lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

My First Post…

Well, this is my first post on this blog.  I have started previous blogs, but the content wasn’t focused and I eventually lost interest!  I really hope to take this to great heights…and write content that will help teachers, parents, students, and readers everywhere.

My journey as a reader…

When I was in elementary school in the 80’s, my learning how to read came from a basal.  I remember hating reading the short stories that were extremely boring!  But, I loved going to the library. The Librarian would book talk new books.  She would hold the book up to let us see the pictures, but she would read while looking at us.  She just mesmerized me as a young kid.  The books she would booktalk are still favorites: Hatchet, There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom, and many others.

Later, I would have teachers who would open the world in books for me.  Because of these teachers, I decided to do the same.  I hope that my students don’t lose the love of reading that I so desperately try to instill in them. I love to go into bookstores and peruse the shelves. My son, who loves to go into Barnes and Noble with me calls it “Toties House” (or Thomas the Train’s House) because not only would he look at books but he would play with Thomas.

I sometimes get worried of telling family members where I want to go.  I am called a Book Nerd…and I am okay with it!  If we are driving down the road, my brother-in-law will say “Oh, he has his ‘Bookdar’ on!”  True enough, I usually can spot a book store a mile away.

This blog will evolve, like I believe most blogs will.  I am currently working on my National Boards, so, with this new venture and boards, I will be pretty busy.

After looking at many blogs, I came across The Nerdy Book Club and found finalists for different categories for the first Nerdies award. Two books I am going to be reading are Breadcrumbs by Anne  Ursu and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.  I am excited for both, but from what I have heard about A Monster Calls, I am a little apprehensive and NOT in a bad way.  I have an aunt who is currently battling brain cancer and this book, unfortunately, will hit home for me.  I am sure I will have some lively thoughts with this book.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

