lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

Guideposts

 

 

I have been thinking since my last post about my reading journey. I attended elementary school in the 1980s. During this time, reading instruction was taught using a basal (it seems that throughout most of the country, we are coming full circle in reading instruction). I was bored to death with the stories that were in the basal and detested in having to answer the questions at the end. I loved going to the library. There, the librarian would do book talks about the newest books the school bought. I was introduced to Hatchet, There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom, Help, I’m a Prisoner in the Library, Ramona books, and many more. My goal is to do some Back to the Future posts on books from the past! I believe that the library was a guidepost on my reading journey.

A guidepost is that constant sign pointing you in the right direction. Oftentimes on our journey we take detours or even have steep hills to climb. Detours can take the love of reading out of the individual. What could these detours be? They could be reading difficulties, reading programs, poor models at school and in the home, or any other problem or situation. My hope as a teacher that I don’t allow my students to have detours along their journey to becoming lifelong readers.

Currently, I have been reading various blogs on kidlit and YA lit. There are a lot of great blogs out there. I have ideas of what I want to add to mine that I haven’t quite seen in others. The Nerdy Book Club introduced me to the book (and others) (see picture) called A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. So far, so good. I am excited to finish to see if I can agree with all of the buzz. A review will be coming soon.

I am also new on Twitter, please follow me at johnlit360.

Also, I am working on my National Boards (if anyone out there can give me advice, I am more than willing to accept! 🙂 ) I will be working on both endeavors!  Am I crazy?

Image

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

