lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

An idea…

As a teacher who teaches writing (and many other things), I teach my students to write a great hook to really draw the reader into their stories. If you have ever read 30 different 5th grade stories, they either all sound the same or need help in drawing the reader in. I struggle sometimes in finding great hooks to show my students. I think the best hook of all time is in Charlotte’s Web (White, 1952), (“Where’s papa going with that ax?” said Fern to her mother as they were setting the table for breakfast.) I am going to add the hook to every book that I review, because we all know that books are the best way to teach writing. I hope that this will help all of you as well!

Thought: What are some of your favorite hooks from your favorite book?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

