lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

The Fault in our Stars

Image

I just finished The Fault in our Stars today…and all I can say is WOW! This is a smart, funny, heartbreaking book. Donalyn Miller, whom I follow and tweet with on Twitter said that this is a book that makes you think after you read it. After I read it, I can agree wholeheartedly with her. I am not going to discuss this book too much because I don’t want to ruin the almost celestial experience in reading about two (extremely real) characters dealing with the effects of cancer.

I have an aunt who is dying from this disease as I write. As I have viewed short videos of her declining in health, I could make real connections with this book. I am going to share this book with her children who are dealing with this disease as well. Previous to this book, I read A Monster Calls. Both are interconnected texts that should be read…and of course you should read a lighter title after. 🙂

I am also going to have to reread it to highlight some of those nuggets of truth from John Green. After reading a word, a sentence, a paragraph, or even a page…it will give you pause to think and ponder what is happening to these character as well as what the author is trying to tell the reader. I love you this book (present tense). *task: see if you can find this last sentence in the book*

You will not want to miss this book!

.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

