lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

The Mighty One…

Image

The year 2012 has started out great for children’s literature! I just finished reading Christopher Paul Curtis’ latest and (may I say) greatest book The Mighty Miss Malone. It was a great read and I was not expecting the twist at the end. There were several moments where I could not get Miss Deza out of my mind…I was constantly thinking about her.

This book is a great addition in historical fiction (and I think CPC does his best writing in this genre). It’s a great companion piece to the masterful Bud, Not Buddy. There are so many ways that a teacher (or even a homeschool teacher) could use this book teaching within the Great Depression Era. This book could be widely read by both boys and girls. A super great read aloud. Furthermore, a great read for students who love history and students who love a good adventure story!

I am a HUGE fan of his other books (especially The Watsons’ Go to Birmingham – 1963).

I am so indebted to my #nerdybookclub friends for recommending great books that I might not otherwise have picked up. Your recommendations so far have not failed.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

