lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

What I am doing this summer…

I wanted to tell you about some of the things that I am doing this summer. I found a group of teachers that wanted to write this summer online. So, an author, Kate Messner (check out her website) set up an opportunity for teachers to write over the summer and be mentored by authors. It’s going to be a fantastic opportunity for me. Also, I will be reading.

Image

One book I found on Twitter is One for the Murphy’s by Lynda Mullaly Hunt. This is her first book and I was able to connect with her just a few days ago on Twitter. I am a few chapters in the book and so far it’s awesome. This is what the book is about.

About the book: Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she’s blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the Murphys eventually show her what it feels like to belong–until her mother wants her back and Carley has to decide where and how to live. She’s not really a Murphy, but the gifts they’ve given her have opened up a new future.

Image

I have been hearing great things about this book and I can’t wait to finish it. I will tell you all what I think about it when I am finished. Also, I will be excited to share this book with all of you. If you do get the chance, see if you can check it out at the library. If you want to buy it, you will need to order it (like I had to). Also, the author tweeted me this:

Image

Question: What are you doing this summer and what book are you reading RIGHT now? Tell me about it. What do you like about it so far? What do you not like about it so far? 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What I am doing this summer…

  1. Thanks for the comment on #TeachersWrite. This book might interest me and it might be too close to home. On twitter I am @march4teachers my bio mentions that I was raised in foster care. Some stories make my brain freeze and my heart pound the way I felt in foster care. Let me know!!

Leave a Reply

