lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

The Book Whisperer and Me

20121119-225617.jpg
Last year I started following Donalyn on Twitter. I bought her book, learned from her through Twitter, and began to use what I was learning in my classroom. I was surprised how kids were talking about books, reading outside during recess, and recommending books to others. I used book clubs to facilitate talking about books. One group read Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. This group began to talk about how much they loved this book and why they loved it. All of a sudden a wildfire began and spread. Everyone wanted to read this book! It was amazing.
We also began to Skype with authors. On this blog, you will see an read about those experiences. I also connected my readers with authors through Twitter. These connections were special!
One thing that I love about Donalyn is that she remembered ME! She also helped me out when going to the exhibit hall the first time. She’s a great friend and a great mentor!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Book Whisperer and Me

  1. Gigi McAllister on said:

    So envious! I too have learned so much from her book and have seen wonderful changes in my classroom. Lucky you!

  2. Janet F. on said:

    Hi! I was at NCTE too but did not get to connect with the NERDY group, though they are “my people” even if they barely know me. My online presence is in its infancy. I have a website called poetryonparade.com but barely go there. Need to start my blog which is an immediate goal. Loved your post I just was linked to about Paying it Forward. I am a retired teacher who used the Workshop approach in the 80s. Hooray!! So am a Nancie Atwell, Donald Graves, Lucy Calkins et al devotee, but so happy to have MORE people on the same page these days thanks to Donalyn! Good for you for sharing what you know with your teachers and at school. I am on the Poetry Friday sites all the time. If you don’t know about Burkins and Yaris please check that out for all things Common Core and beyond. It is a great site. I would say go back and read from last year when they started which was maybe in March? Are you heading to IRA? I need to start the Twitter thing in earnest. I got hear through maybe Donalyn’s Tweet. Was thinking of joining Kate Messner’s writing group. How did you like it?

Leave a Reply

