lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

#Nerdlution

What the heck is a “Nerdlution”? Well, it seems as if you are part of the Nerdy Book Club then almost everything has to have the word “nerdy” in it. A group of us on Twitter have made it a resolution to write more and others to exercise more. Mine is to write more. My hope is to write a book…but we will see what happens with that. I am going to use this to share my story.

My nerdlution is to also write on this blog more frequently.

To share my story.

I was able to go to NCTE this last week. In Boston. Yes, it was a great time just like last year. I will post pictures soon. The one thing that I took away personally was that I have a story to share and tell. I talked with Ruth Ayres and she said the same thing. I talked to Lee Anne Spillane and she said the same thing. “Yes, but is it your story?” I just don’t want to repeat the same thing. That is my fear.

One night I sat in the lobby area of the Sheraton, and my friend Donalyn Miller sat beside me. I asked, “I really want to write a book but I am afraid that everything has been said.” She turned to me and said, “John, how many times has the song Yesterday (by the Beatles)  be sung by different artists?” “A lot”, I replied. It’s true. There are a lot of books about writing, reading, classroom structures, ideas…but are these my ideas? Would someone out there like to read and hear my ideas?

 

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “#Nerdlution

  1. If you promise to write, I promise to read it.

  2. My thoughts exactly. It does seem like everything has been said already, and so much of what I do in my classroom is based on all the great books that have already been written. Thank you for this post.

  3. Allison Williams on said:

    Your concern is legitimate. We are all inundated with blogs, articles and books about “writing, reading, classroom structures, ideas” to quote your post. Of course your friends will support you but is there a wider audience for what you have to say? I am not trying to discourage you, just make sure you know what your goal is for writing and whether you will be adding something new to the conversation. Sometimes satisfaction comes from working through your ideas and recording your conclusions. Sometimes you need more. Good luck, whatever you decide.

  4. Best of luck in your aspirations. You are not alone when it feels like everything else has already been written about. You’ll find a way!

  5. I agree. Everyone has a story. I think you need the faith to jump in and find your story…at least, that’s what I’m trying. I want to write a book. I don’t know what my story is, but I’m looking for it. The more I write, I feel like I get closer to it. You’ll do it. You have a story and it should be written. I’d like to read it!

  6. Very wise words from Donalyn Miller! Go for it! I’m excited to hear your story!

  7. Yes. I think a key will be to stop yourself from trying to write something we will want to read and instead take this opportunity to write in order to find your story. We will want to read your story. Humans are like that. We like to connect to others, and we love to do that through hearing each others’ stories (and seeing ourselves in them). Tell us about the moments that have been most meaningful to you in your teaching and learning. A theme will emerge that we will all benefit from reading.

Leave a Reply

