lit360

where all things literacy come full circle…

The Size of a Basket

Every Tuesday, I participate in the Slice of Life challenge at Two Writing Teachers. If you want to participate, you can link up at their Slice of Life Story Post on Tuesdays or you can just head on over there to check out other people's stories. (I borrowed this from Jen Vincent's blog at www.teachmentortext.com)

Every Tuesday, I participate in the Slice of Life challenge at Two Writing Teachers. If you want to participate, you can link up at their Slice of Life Story Post on Tuesdays or you can just head on over there to check out other people’s stories. (I borrowed this from Jen Vincent’s blog at http://www.teachmentortext.com)

I went into a classroom this past week to take pictures for my Instabrate bulletin board.

As I was browsing around, I saw this picture on a basket.

I do not know it's source.

I do not know it’s source.

I was intrigued.

In all caps it says “YOU ARE LIVING IN A WORLD THAT MANY CHILDREN DREAM OF!” Then it says below “What size of basket will you need for what you are going to learn in school this year?”

I loved the idea of this.

I always tried to engrain in the minds of my students that they were extremely lucky to be able to come to school, to learn, and to be able to be anything that they wanted to be.

I am the first person in my family to graduate with a Masters degree. This was a HUGE accomplishment for me that I really never thought I would be able to achieve, but I was able to.

I always wanted my students to know the power of learning. The power of being educated. The power of what that education brings.

What are your thoughts on this?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

